Disability News Service, Resources, Diversity, Americans with Disabilities Act; Local and National.

Monday, December 19, 2016

President Obama Appoints Gregory S. Fehribach to the U.S. Access Board

Gregory S. FehribachPresident Barack Obama has named Gregory S. Fehribach of Indianapolis to the U.S. Access Board. Fehribach is president of the Fehribach Group, a consulting firm he founded in 1995 that specializes in accessibility, universal design, and compliance with the ADA. He is also an attorney with the firm of Doninger, Tuohy and Bailey, LLP in Indianapolis and has practiced law for the past 30 years.

Since 1988, Fehribach has served as a panel trustee for the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Southern District of Indiana. In 2009, he was designated a Distinguished Fellow at Ball State University's Bowen Center for Public Affairs where he established The Disability Project. Fehribach has served on the Ball State University Board of Trustees, the Indiana Governor's Planning Council for People with Disabilities, the Board of Directors of the Indianapolis Public Transportation Corporation, and the Marion County Health and Hospital Corporation Board of Trustees. He succeeds Hans Van Winkle on the Access Board.

The U.S. Access Board is an independent Federal agency that provides leadership in accessible design under the ADA and other laws. The Board is structured to function as a coordinating body among Federal agencies and to directly represent the public, particularly people with disabilities. Half of its members are representatives from most of the Federal departments, and the other half is comprised of public members appointed by the President. 

SOURCE: Press Release Dec. 19, 2016

No comments: