Disability News Service, Resources, Diversity, Americans with Disabilities Act; Local and National.

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Preparedness Planning for People with Respiratory Issues and those with Intellectual Disabilities" - Webinar Sept. 10th

as shared by the Pacific ADA Center.

"FEMA Promising Practices: Preparedness Planning for People with Respiratory Issues and those with Intellectual Disabilities"

September 10th, 2015

Webinars begin at 2.30pm ET/1.30pm CT/12.30 pm MT/11.30am PT/8.30am Hawaii.
Registration: Free on-line at http://www.adapresentations.org/registration.php
This webinar will cover important aspects of consideration during the proactive development and implementation of a disaster plan for people with developmental disabilities and for those with respiratory concerns. It will cover the specific needs of those particular members of the community and how these two programs developed necessary steps to ensure the timely delivery of medical supplies, considerations for travel (public or private), where and how to make contact with appropriate parties, and how to prepare a travel kit.
Learning objectives:
  • Identify the respiratory needs of the individual.
  • Learn how to and implement travel plans.
  • Learn how the staff and clients of Becoming Independent, a program serving intellectually challenged individuals, embraced preparedness and successfully responded to the 2014 Napa earthquake.
  • Linda Carter started her career in emergency management in 1972, teaching First Aid / Disaster Courses for the military in Okinawa and at a variety of military bases in the United States. She founded Underwater Search and Rescue for civilians. Linda continued her career with the American Red Cross teaching First Aid, CPR and disaster preparedness courses. She also founded the non-profit organization,"No Person Left Behind", which focuses on disaster planning for people with disabilities. Linda presents disaster planning information to area hospitals, support groups and at national conferences.
  • Richard Ruge has worked in the field of disabilities since 1972. The organization he co-founded, DP4VP - Disaster Preparedness for Vulnerable Populations, promotes community empowerment and self-sufficiency in the face of disasters through networking, workshops, materials, and engagement. Related websites are http://www.sonoma-county.org/health/meetings/dp4vp.aspand http://www.thejoyofpreparedness.com/. Richard co-hosts The Joy of Preparedness radio.
  • Ana-Marie Jones, Executive Director of CARD - Collaborating Agencies Responding to Disasters - www.CARDcanhelp.org - A nonprofit agency based in Oakland, CA and created in the wake of the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake, CARD's Prepare to Prosper fear-free, alternative preparedness programs provide customized emergency tools and services to nonprofits, faith agencies and others serving Access and Functional Needs (AFN) communities.
  • Carmen Ynostroza, Director of Community Living Supports for Becoming Independent. Becoming Independent is the largest Supported Living agency in the North Bay, assisting over 200 Developmentally Disabled Adults to live independently. She has worked in this field for over 20 years, as well as having a teaching background. She has been a member of the Becoming Independent's Disaster Preparedness committee since it began in 2006. She developed and implemented the disaster preparedness training for Community Living Supports program participants. Ensuring that every participant was trained, given 'go-kits', assisted to maintain their kits and that follow-up trainings were implemented.
To view all of the sessions for the coming year, or to see previous sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/schedule.php
The information presented in this webinar is intended solely as informal guidance, and is neither a determination of legal rights or responsibilities by NIDILRR or FEMA.

No comments: