Disability News Service, Resources, Diversity, Americans with Disabilities Act; Local and National.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Emergency Management and Preparedness-Inclusion of Persons with Disabilities - Webinar Nov. 13th

as shared by Pacific ADA Center and the ADA National Network

Announcing a new webinar - "FEMA Promising Practice: Including Emergency Management in Independent Living Centers to Maximize Potential for Whole Community Preparedness"

November 13th, 2014

Webinars begin at 2.30pm ET/1.30pm CT/12.30 pm MT/11.30am PT/9.30am Hawaii.
Registration: Free on-line at http://www.adapresentations.org/registration.php
Without cooperative and inclusive approaches to emergency preparedness and management, people with disabilities will be greatly impacted during all phases of disaster. This presentation will engage audiences on how offices of emergency management can work with disability organizations to increase inclusive emergency management practices within local communities. Additionally, this session will explore innovative ways disability organizations can organize to provide resources towards disaster systems.
Dr. Patricia Yeager is the Chief Executive Officer for The Independence Center in Colorado Springs. She has more than 30 years of experience with the independent living movement and efforts to provide accessibility for people with disabilities. Patricia has championed change in her community by ensuring the discussion of preparedness and safety for people with disabilities is included in emergency planning and response efforts.
Nick DeSutter is The Independence Center's Emergency Program Manager. He served eight years in the United States Army and brings an emergency management perspective to the disability community. In his role he provides emergency training workshops and works in partnership with city and county offices of emergency management to ensure efforts include systems for people with disabilities
These 90 minute webinars are delivered using the Blackboard Collaborate webinar platform. Collaborate downloads files to your machine in order to run. We recommend that you prepare your technology prior to the start of the session. You may need the assistance of your IT Staff if firewalls prevent you from downloading files.
To view all of the sessions for the coming year, or to see previous sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/schedule.php

Copyright © 2014 Pacific ADA Center, All rights reserved.

No comments: